Corporate Governance

Ensuring Integrity and Accountability: Corporate Governance at the National Food Reserve Agency

The National Food Reserve Agency (NFRA) is wholly owned by the Malawi Government.

Reporting Structure
The Agency’s reporting structure is comprehensive, ensuring accountability and alignment with governmental objectives. It reports directly to the Ministry of Agriculture on policy matters, administratively to the Department of Statutory Corporations (DSC), and financially to the Ministry of Finance.

NFRA Board
The NFRA Board is the cornerstone of governance, composed of Trustees and ex-officio members. With a tenure of two years, the current Board serves from 10th October 2022 to 9th October 2024. The Board consists of nine Trustees.

Ex-officio members of the Board include:

1. Comptroller of Statutory Corporations
2. Secretary for Agriculture
3. Secretary to the Treasury

This structure ensures diverse expertise and governmental oversight, guiding NFRA’s strategic direction and stewardship of national resources.

Our Board Members

Meet the creative minds behind our success.

Dennis Kalekeni
Board Chairperson
Jibson Thole
Chairperson – Operations Sub-committee
Father Emmanuel Chikaya
Chairperson – HR and Admin Sub-committee
Vasco Mtunduwatha Chimbalu
Andiopenji Makwinja
Mapitiro Chibisa
Ida Chisaka
Bonnex Malunga
Rev Witcane Gama

National Food Reserve Agency

Adequate Reserves for Malawi

Scroll to Top